Google has announced that it will auto-delete your Location History, search, voice and YouTube activity data after 3 months. Google had introduced auto-delete controls last year but very few people seem to know about it and actively use it. With the new change, whatever data Google collects about your online presence through the usage of its products will be automatically deleted by default after 3 months.
Location history is turned off by default for first time users and the auto-delete option will be set to 18 months by default. Web & App Activity auto-delete will also default to 18 months for new accounts. “This means your activity data will be automatically and continuously deleted after 18 months, rather than kept until you choose to delete it. You can always turn these settings off or change your auto-delete option,” as per the official blog post.
Meanwhile, if Location History and Web & App Activity is turned on for an account, Google will remind you about the auto-delete controls. Explaining the move, Sundar Pichai, CEO, Google said, “As we introduce default retention to more products, we’re guided by the principle that products should keep information only for as long as it’s useful to you. As always, we don’t sell your information to anyone, and we don’t use information in apps where you primarily store personal content—such as Gmail, Drive, Calendar and Photos—for advertising purposes, period.”
Google believes this will also help products like YouTube to better understand a user’s taste and recommend better content. “This improves upon current industry practice and ensures that YouTube can continue to make relevant entertainment recommendations based on what you’ve watched or listened to in the past—like letting you know if your favorite series has released another season, or when your favorite artist drops a new album,” it added.

.